A spot of delight

While out running errands this morning, we happened to notice a Blockbuster Video store was closing. Actually, I’ve noticed for a while that this Blockbuster was closing, as it’s on the way to the YMCA. On this morning’s trip, however, I noticed a sign.

DVDs $0.99 Or Less.

Oh my.

My my my my my.

While J took M into the Payless Shoes next door, I took K into the video store. I walked out twenty minutes later with sixteen movies, for which I had paid less than sixteen dollars. I am quite pleased by this. Now I just have to find time to watch them.

Revolutionary Road – because it’s supposed to be good.
Tart – it’s a cult classic in the recent Bad Girl movies
Junebug – it’s supposed to be very good.
Push – it’s a movie starring Dakota Fanning as Layla from the X-Factor comics. Not really, but close enough.
The Haunting of Molly Hartley – I have seen it and loved it, though no one else on the planet seems to think it’s any good.
Adventureland – saw it and loved it, and Kristen Stewart is a good actress, dangit!
The Quiet – I’ve liked Elisha Cuthbert since I saw her on 24, and my kids love her on Popular Mechanics for Kids.
Watchmen – because I am a geek and it’s a requirement for my major, more or less.
Transporter 3 – I want, more than many things, to see Jason Statham play Leon in a remake of The Professional.
Sunshine Cleaning – I saw this and it’s damn good.
State of Play – I hear it’s good, and I like Russell Crowe.
Transformers 2 – my son wants this.
Monsters vs. Aliens – my daughter wants this.
Terminator Salvation -I am a completist for the Terminator franchise.
Pieces of April – movies about strained family gatherings are awesome. Home for the Holidays anyone?
Margot at the Wedding – Nicole Kidman and Jennifer Jason Leigh. There is no way I am not watching this.

The YMCA

It’s been about four months of going to the Y, three or four days a week. And I can actually see measurable results.

I can do the elliptical or recumbent bike for half an hour, and not on the easiest settings. I can row for ten minutes. I can do two sets of ten lat pull-downs at 70 pounds. I can balance on one foot, each side, for around 30 seconds. I can do thirty crunches.

But there are all these other, not-as-easily-measured things, too. No back-aches in months. I can hold my arm out in front of me at shoulder-height and kick it with my shin. I didn’t slip and fall on the sidewalk at all this winter. Little things that improve the quality of my life.

It’s pretty nice.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,271 other followers