Time, money, both still finite

1. The May circus shows are coming up. Somewhat to our chagrin, the kids’ Unicycle acts are each in the second half of the show. So both kids will need to stay up until 10:30 or 11:00 at night on show nights. Not to mention dress/tech rehearsals, which are LEGENDARY for how long they runs. To pre-plan for as positive an outcome as we can manage, we’ve taken advantage of the DST time change. The kids are now getting up at 7:00 and going to bed at 8:30, instead of 6:00 and 7:30. As we get closer to show-week we’ll inch their bedtimes and wake-up times further back.

This is … suboptimal for me. I really LIKE that evening time without my kids. I watch inappropriate movies. I spend time with J, just us alone. Or J and N and I watch Top Gear and eat junk food without an eagle-eyed child wondering if THEY can ALSO have an extra treat in the day.

I’m telling you, I treasure that time without the kids.

But, it’s just for a couple of months. And it’s kinda nice to snuggle up with the kids in the evening and talk, and watch Justice League Unlimted cartoons, and read books together.

I guess what I’m saying is that I’ll manage, and it will be fine. But I don’t particularly like change to my routine, and I expect I will whine about it somewhat.

2. Whedonistas was sold out for a while on Amazon yesterday, but I’m told it’s back in stock now. My thanks to all of you who ordered, and pre-ordered, and who demonstrated to the big sellers that they need to stock more of this book and others like it.

3. We went grocery shopping yesterday. It’s … pleasantly surprising, how much less expensive groceries are without energy drinks, soda, boxes of highly salty pre-packaged foods, pre-packaged frozen cheese-related foods, ice cream, or salty snack foods. I’m going to call that a win.

This afternoon, if everything works out schedule-wise, I think I’m going to get a chance to do some cooking. I have a couple new things to try.

4. Off to the Y this morning. I don’t know if I want to bring Tiger Eye, by Marjorie M. Liu, or New Amsterdam, by Elizabeth Bear, or Georgiana The Duchess of Devonshire by Amanda Foreman, or Rosemary and Rue by Seanan McGuire. A wealth of reading riches by a bunch of great women. Hmm.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,321 other followers