Less sick than I was!

1. My GOODNESS, I feel so much better today! I spent almost all of yesterday in bed, reading and watching videos. Now I merely have constant snot and a sporadically wracking cough. Go Team!

2. I did do five loads of dishes, though. I think I’ve mentioned this before — we don’t have a built-in dishwasher, we have a small, rollaway dishwasher suitable for a single person or a couple who doesn’t cook much. In a household of five + dogs, this means it’s too small. So when I skip a day, like Tuesday, the next two days are a race to catch up.

3. The kids and I, for school, watched a documentary about the Massacre at Fort Mystic. This, for those of you who may not know, was the massacre of the Pequot tribe by a coalition of Pilgrim settlers and Narraganset and Mohegan in 1637. It was the introduction of “total warfare” to the New England area, and the subsequent Treaty of Hartford set the tone for tribal relations for the next … two hundred years or so.

My son copes with these sorts of historical realities by blowing fireballs, rockets, bombs, or lasers at whichever side he perceives to be the Bad Guys in the fight. M has, as an instructor mentioned to us, “a highly developed sense of justice.” In this case he was firebombing the English settlers. As coping mechanisms go, I think this is perfectly acceptable for a seven-year-old. The urge to rush in and help the helpless and downtrodden is not an urge I’m inclined to quash.

I, of course, found the part about the resurgence of the Pequot Nation in the 1970s, the hopeful and triumphant part, to be absolutely tear-jerking. But that may just be me.

4. I’ve been re-reading Finder, specifically The Finder Library, vol. 1. I’ve talked about this on Fantastic Fangirls, a bit, but I do so love these stories. I’m taking my time on this re-read. Looking carefully at the art, checking the footnotes. It’s worth the time.

5. I read Jennifer Traig’s Well Enough Alone, the memoir of her hypochondria. The book is really hilariously funny. If you like memoirs of illness by incredibly self-aware, wry people, this is for you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,345 other followers

