Discount Armageddon, a review of sorts

There will be some spoilers in this.

1. I loved this book.

2. The book in question is Discount Armageddon, by Seanan McGuire.

3. It’s urban fantasy remarkably devoid of vampires and werewolves. It’s cryptozoology. Science-based cryptozoology. I can’t tell you the degree of delight this gave me, the blending of science and fantasy.

4. The protagonist, Verity Price, is a delight to ride along with. This is important in a first-person narrative. At least, it’s important to me. Verity comes across to me as determined, intelligent, and very strong. She also comes across as young. But that, that may be on me. I had her certainty and her faith when I was twenty-three, twenty-four years old. That washed away with age. As did the ability to eat junk food on a regular basis.

5. I want to know more about all of the supporting cast and cryptids. The world is rich and intriguing. The non-humans are not human, which is really darn cool.

6. The book is funny. I kept grinning, and the Aeslin mice made me laugh out loud more than once.

7. Discount Armageddon is a romp of a book. Yet clearly the world of Verity Price and her family is built on a turbulent and bloody history. It’s a balancing act, the fun and the action, the damnation and exile. The balance worked well for me in this first book. McGuire treats the grim and gritty as merely matter-of-fact because to Verity it is matter-of-fact. It’s her life, this world, and Verity Price is going to make the most of it.

In short, I really liked Discount Armageddon. If you like urban fantasy, if you like science in your fiction, if you like kick-ass blondes with all the knives and all the miniskirts, this is the book for you.

Or, as the Aeslin mice would say it, “HAIL! HAIL TO THE HOLY FESTIVAL OF THE LAUNCHING OF THE BOOK!”

.
.

One Response

  1. Ooh, that DOES sound fun. And “V. Price,” hee, CUTE.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,346 other followers

