Chicks Dig Comics discussions and other news

1. In the week since C2E2 the internet has seen a couple mentions of Chicks Dig Comics.

ComicBuzz reviewed the C2E2 panel and book.

Corrina Lawson wrote up the panel for Wired’s GeekDad feature.

Christian Lipski of the Portland Examiner covered the Chicks Dig Comics launch at Bridge City Comics. I, personally, was happy to see the slideshow of event photos, since I was unable to get to Portland.

2. I was grumpy and irritable all weekend. I finally realized it’s probably because I haven’t worked out really hard in over a week. This is due to travel and tendonitis. I am working on finding things I can do that give me the same satisfaction as heavy barbell lifting and jogging. So far … no real luck. But I’m working on it!

3. This week my schedule switches from winter to summer. I am back on five eight-hour days instead of four ten-hour days. I am not keen on this, and look forward to the resumption of my tens in the autumn. I am especially not keen on the fact that I now have two mornings of getting up before five a.m.

4. I like a lot of fictional properties that my family calls Bad Decision Theater. Shows like Game of Thrones, where everyone is being who and what they are, and making terrible decisions as a result. But sometimes I like shows about how good people can be. Flawed, but good.

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic is one of those shows.

I’m not saying it’s great dramatic theater. The plots are very straightforward. The dialog is reasonably simple. And every character on the show, regardless of depicted color, is white — a point highlighted when the exotic folk-magic-using stranger with an accent is portrayed by a zebra. (Horses are white, zebras are black?)

But MLP:FiM seems determined to show that there are a variety of ways to be a girl or woman and be successful. That there are a variety of ways for women to be friends. That different skills and interests all have value, and that, more importantly, that value is never derived from making others feel small or weak or less.

I’m not saying the show is deep, or not for kids. (Though I do appreciate the adult-aimed pop culture references, such as Sondheim, Andy Warhol, and Galadriel.) But there’s nothing nasty in it, nothing sarcastic or wry or edgy. It’s clean and hopeful, and sometimes that’s the kind of story I like.

.
.

2 Responses

  1. So now I want to do a Game of Thrones – Friendship is Magic comparison. (I am fairly certain I remember Apple Jack saying Winter is coming once)

  2. @Anika I encourage this!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,257 other followers

