My brain, not shutting up

1. Had a lovely dinner last night for K’s birthday. N’s entire family was there, and our family friends B and K, and much food was eaten. K made out rather like a bandit, and is no longer allowed to complain that she has no socks.

2. I spent from 4:30 to 6:00 am lying in bed wide awake worrying about what I would pack if a secret government agency was chasing me down for my superpowers. Like, worrying. Packing and repacking things, in different scenarios, depending on how much time I would have to get away. And where would I go — somewhere warmer than this, was my decision. I have a friend in Georgia that I was considering crashing with for a while, because they are in GEORGIA. And then I got really stuck on how my family’s bills would get paid. They’re on auto-pay, but if I fled the secret agency I obviously wouldn’t be at work, and my account would run out of money, and then creditors would start coming after my family. Maybe N would help pitch in and pay the mortgage if I had to disappear? But *how* would they do it, since no bills come to the house? Luckily N and J both know which drawer in the filing cabinet has all the important papers. Maybe they could call the mortgage company and explain that the payment was going to change. And after I worked that out I spent considerable time trying to figure out if it was worth it to pack my shotgun. I mean, would I actually use it? Likely not, and it’s heavy. I did figure out where I would stop and change the license plates of my car. A Wal-Mart parking lot, since they have no security cameras and the highest crime rates in the exurbs. And let’s not even talk about the various meds I’m on. Suffice it to say that I could only be on the lam for about three months, tops.

Brain. Seriously, brain, shut up.

3. I should get breakfast, since as far as I know there are no government agencies after me. We’re running low on cereal, but I think there’s still some that I like.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 782 other followers