November 14th.

1. Today M is dressed like a tsunami. Yesterday was a tornado, and Saturday, a lava flow. Tomorrow will be flood.

2. I have had a hideous sore throat all day. This makes me whiny.

3. I watched the Hunger Games trailer and it makes me feel sick and sad and terribly afraid. I would have loved Katniss and the Hunger Games if I had read it before I had children. But now, instead of identifying with the protagonists, I identify them with my children. I think of K. I think of my beautiful and talented daughter, with her strength and skill and her ready, easy friendship, solemn and scared and fighting for her life. And I start crying, watching the movie trailer. So I’m not sure I’m going to see it.

4. M just walked in and recited the Dark is Rising poem to me. You know the one, right?

When the Dark is Rising six shall turn it back
Three from the Circle, three from the track
Wood, bronze, iron, water, fire, stone
Five will return and one shall go alone

Bronze for the birthday, Iron carried long
Wood from the burning, Stone out of song
Fire from the candle-ring, Water from the thaw
Six signs the Circle, and the Grail gone before

Fire on the mountain shall find the harp of gold
Played to wake the Sleeper, oldeest of the old
Power from the Green Witch lost beneath the sea
All shall find the Light at last, silver on the tree

I memorized this and the rune from A Swiftly Tilting Planet as a child, the first pieces of poetry I ever memorized.

At Tara in this fateful hour,
I place all Heaven with its power,
And the sun with its brightness,
And the snow with its whiteness,
And the fire with all the strength it hath,
And the lightning with its rapid wrath,
And the winds with their swiftness along their path,
And the sea with its deepness,
And the rocks with their steepness,
And the Earth with its starkness
All these I place
By God’s almighty help and grace
Between myself and the powers of darkness

I’m not a particularly talented memorizer. I have a bad ear for lyrics, I get the verses of hymns helplessly discombobulated, and I tend to gloss over the smaller words in poetry, or substitute similar concepts. But those poems I knew.

I’m really, really touched that M is memorizing the chant of the light.

5. K found the dvd of the kids’ first circus performance. They were three years old.

Three.

I watched it, and they are so wee and tiny and precious and I have trouble believing that those wee children are now my incredibly competent kids.

6. I read Lynn Barber’s memoir, An Education today. I quite liked it. She has a tone that describes the most improbable things matter-of-factly, which I like.

What struck me most, though, was the reality of how we all have multiple lives. I used to wonder, as a teen and younger adult, how it was that people in fiction would have Mysterious Pasts that would come up, or Mysterious People from Their Past. But once you get past about twenty-five, most people have periods of their life that the people they associate with now have no knowledge of. Taking my life as an example:

Boarding school for high school
First two years of college
Second two years of college
Minicon
The first Year of Being Queer
Costa Rica
The second Year of Being Queer
CONvergence
Air traffic control school
The house with Moxie
Leaving Moxie
Air traffic controller
L-Space
Living with J
The Kids
Theatrical Muse & LJ
Twitter
Writer/editor

None of that makes much sense to you, Gentle Reader. It’s a mishmash of work phases, online social hangouts, relationships, in-person social hangouts — but there is enough there that I’ve walked away from to give me a RICH, THRIVING community of Mysterious People from My Past to walk back onto the scene. And I’m only thirty-eight.

6 Responses

  1. Oh! Oh! I must now go reread A Swiftly Tilting Planet. That was always my favorite of the four. Though Many Waters was a close seconds, with the creepily erotic Nephilim.

  2. It was my favorite of the four, too. I don’t think I ever read the fourth one …

  3. For all of it’s flaws, I remember Many Waters better then the other three honestly.

    I think I can say that I’m honored to at least know of about all of your time markers, even if I don’t know all the details for about half of them.

  4. @ Nathan Longevity!

  5. Re: #3, for example, I cannot even remember seeing I Am Legend now without having slight trouble breathing, because I think of my four year old being in that world. Those visions do make post-apocalyptic entertainment somewhat more difficult to enjoy.

  6. @Skye Yes. Yes indeed.

Leave a Reply

