December 23 2011

1. The people building the house next door do show up early, my goodness. Of course, we get up pretty early, so it’s not really a problem. I just have to remember to be wearing an appropriate amount of clothing when I walk past the windows to go wake up the kids.

2. I am really enjoying playing the table-top game Dominion. It’s a deck-building game (which is different from a CCG game) in which you try to buy cards representing land in order to win. To get there you can buy cards representing money and cards representing your minion forces, which give you actions you can take in furtherance of your cause.

I think I enjoy it for a couple of reasons. First, you are not directly competing *against* the other players. Yes, of course there is one winner and everyone else loses. But it’s more about you doing your best with your strategy and the available resources. Second, there are a variety of available strategies. You can attack more, defend more, go for more cards, go for more money — there’s room for individual preferences. I like it.

3. I work today, and Monday. This means I will miss the Christmas Eve trip that Santa takes around the U.S. air traffic control system. Late at night on Christmas Eve, flight plans circulate through the computers:

SNTA01 FL500 M200 EGLL EDGR ZBJN PANC CYYZ KPDX KLAX KMSP KJFK
HO HO HO FROM ORD

Etc. I think the first year I worked, I brought one of those home.

Leave a Reply

