January 1 2012

Today starts the new calendar year!

1. M is sick, the poor pook. His cough sounds like a barking seal.

2. It’s Yuletide reveals! I hope that Ms. Bujold has not altered her friendly opinion of fannish activity regarding her works, because I wrote Domestic Affairs. It’s a Vorkosigan-verse fic featuring Ekaterine, set after her marriage to Miles and before the following two books.

The summary I wrote says, “After her marriage to Miles, Ekaterine looks for balance in a life that comes with out-sized baggage.” The recipient had asked for plotty gen fic. I love Ekaterine above all things in those books, save for Cordelia, and I thought that a case-fic from her perspective would be interesting. What is the impact of Miles’ Auditorial life on their marriage? Some folks were kind enough to leave comments on the fic, and my thanks to you all who did so. I appreciate it.

I also wrote a Stocking Stuffer in the Sucker Punch fandom, Self-reflection. The recipient had asked for a happy ending, and this is as happy an ending as I can come up with. It’s more an angry ending than happy, but I, personally, like that.

3. After the kids went to bed last night I spent some time cooking. I figure a well-stocked refrigerator is a good way to move into the new year.

4. I’m not much one for resolutions. Rather, I’m not one for New Year’s Resolutions. I don’t think resolve is something you decide or intend, I think it’s something you do. Some of the things I resolved in the past year have worked out quite well for me. Getting exercise and eating better, for instance, are going great. Writing is something I have failed to do much of in the past year. Editing, however, I have done a crapton of.

“The moral virtues, then, are produced in us neither by nature nor against nature. Nature, indeed, prepares in us the ground for their reception, but their complete formation is the product of habit.”

– Aristotle

I am a creature of habit. If I do a thing more than twice it shall always and forever be done that one and only true right way. I’m trying to figure out how to adjust my habits in the coming year to achieve more of my goals. This isn’t a resolution, it’s not a decision. It’s a process. Changing a habit requires a plan, a plan that I will actually do. If you read this blog, I’m sure you’ll hear about it. :)

5. Thank you, all of you, who do read my blog. I appreciate your time and your attention. Those are not trivial things, time and attention. Yours are valuable.

6. Best wishes in this coming year for each of you. Take care.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 786 other followers