January 9 2012

1. Are you coming to Wiscon? If you are submissions are open for programming ideas! Submit your proposals here!

2. I started watching the HBO miniseries adaptation of Mildred Pierce. It’s very good, but I had to turn it off halfway through the first episode. Kate Winslet is doing too good a job portraying the fear and anxiety of a parent trying to support her kids. While I am comfortably situated in my job, I still worry. What if something happened to me? What if I could no longer work? How would we deal with the loss of income? These are not completely zombie apocalypse questions. Many, many people who never thought they would be in fiscal straits have found themselves adrift in the last few years. Stable jobs vanish. My job is unlikely to vanish, but it could change dramatically at the decision of Congress. Moreover, there are a wide range of physical health situations which would preclude me from working my current job. A loss of hearing, for instance, or a need to take certain medications. It’s not probable, but it’s possible, that I could be out of work. That window of possibility makes me feel queasy when I see the anguished, silent, controlled desperation on Kate Winslet’s face as Mildred.

3. I recently appeared on the Fuzzy Typewriter podcast, speaking with David Accampo and Coleman Ranahan about the FX television series American Horror Story. It was a great conversation, and I am pleased Dave invited me. Show page and download links, here.

4. N set up a Minecraft server on our home network. J is playing, N is playing, and M is clamoring to be taught how to play. I’m not sure when I’m going to see my family again …

5. The stove, repaired to the tune of many dollars, and cleaned by me, is still only half-functioning. I hope a call to have the repairperson back out will solve the problem. I do not want to buy a new stove, you know?

6. The seasonal additions to my zombie apocalypse preparedness kit have all arrived, I think. Many cute little LED flashlights, another survival strap bracelet, etc.

7. I am reading Mark Rippetoe’s book, Starting Strength. It’s the primer of barbell weight training. If you are geeky, and want to work out with barbells, and like a little bit of snark, this is absolutely the book for you. Rippetoe spends pages and pages discussing moment arm, and the equations for force and work, and rotational advantage, and all sorts of physics and biology. The book is full of little diagrams I haven’t seen since my senior year of high school. Rippetoe is not a geek in a Star Wars or Game of Thrones sense, but he is a geek in the sense that he is very, very passionate about both the details and about making sure that you comprehend every detail to its fullest extent. Reading Starting Strength feels a bit like being cornered at a convention room party by a guy who is telling you every detail about the canon their War of the Roses re-enactment troupe uses. If you are into the topic, it’s terrifically fascinating. If not …

So, I suppose, if you want to learn everything about lifting a barbell, go buy Rippetoe’s Starting Strength.

2 Responses

  1. I want to go to Wiscon. Yesterday I checked Twitter on my phone and there was a swinging Wiscon panel suggestions convo going on and I had to click out. Of all the conventions I wish I could go to that’s the one I most wish. /whine

  2. @Anika Memorial Day weekend! Free child care! (I know, you know these facts already.)

Leave a Reply

