Britney Spears’ “Till the World Ends”

I’ve written at some length about Britney Spears before.

I was listening to the single “Till the World Ends” the other day. Here’s the video.
.

When I listen to the song, not watching the video, I keep thinking this song sounds like a suicide note. It’s supposed to be this bippy club hit, about partying and dancing and whatnot. But just as “Circus” is unhappy, just as “Piece of Me” is hopeless underneath the anger, “Till the World Ends” has a sense of resignation that gives me chills. I watched the video, looking at Ms. Spears’ face.

I can’t take it take it take no more
Never felt like felt like this before

My god, she looks like she doesn’t care. Like she doesn’t care about any of this.

Ms. Spears has been her father’s legal property since her public acting out in 2007. I can’t really tell you how ill that makes me, thinking about that. Yet the news this past month indicates that her father plans to end the conservatorship because Britney is marrying a guy of whom he approves. Jamie Spears calls it a present to his daughter for her wedding. Giving her her legal adulthood back. For her wedding.

The song and the video for “Till the World Ends” were produced long before Jaime Spears’ announcement this year. The photos of Ms. Spears that I saw while surfing for more news about this seem to show her as looking happy. Certainly she looks more alive in her eyes than she does in the song’s video.

It is entirely possible that Ms. Spears is happy now. I hope, I truly, truly hope, that she has gotten her depression under control, that she has fallen in love with a man that gossip-monger Perez Hilton characterizes as a decent, loving, kind person. Yet this looks like Jamie Spears is handing off the multi-million-dollar property of his daughter to another man. I hope I’m wrong about that.

Ms. Spears, I am rooting for you. I hope you get your life back, and I hope it’s one you can live with.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 779 other followers

