I am on the James Tiptree Jr. Award long list

Andrea Hairston won this year’s Tiptree Award.

The Tiptree Award “is presented annually to a work of science fiction or fantasy that explores and expands gender roles. The award seeks out work that is thought-provoking, imaginative, and perhaps even infuriating. It is intended to reward those writers who are bold enough to contemplate shifts and changes in gender roles, a fundamental aspect of any society.” It’s given out each year at Wiscon. Each year there is a winner, a short list, and a long list. Sort of a first, second, and third place prize, if you want to think of it that way.

If you scroll down that link, above, to the long list, you will see my name. My story, “No Return Address”, was selected by the Tiptree Jury for the long list.

I am really proud of this.

Also disbelieving and stunned.

But proud.

The Tiptree Award is one that I value. It’s a reward I respect. All the years I’ve been going to Wiscon, I pick up the long list and spend the next couple months after the convention reading off of it. To have something I did on that list is a massive dose of unreality.

But, there it is.

I tell people that I have no imposter syndrome, none in the world. I think this is correct. I was proud of “No Return Address.” (I would omgedititmore if I had another chance, but there you have it.) I thought I had worked hard and put a thing out into the world that was flawed, but as good as I could make it at the time. And I thought that was pretty decent.

… This does not mean I expected anyone else to agree with me. Let alone agree that I was trying my best to say something complicated about female agency and the nature of heroism, and what growth as a person actually means when there’s no-one watching. About what parenting means and how it changes. About anger and love and caretaking and how those things are written into the lives of women.

Most of all, when I wrote “No Return Address”, I just wanted to apologize to my mother for not picking up a phone and calling her for months and months on end while I was away at school. I did not expect that this would matter to anyone else.

But it seems it did.

Thank you.

Tiptree jury, thank you. My heart-felt gratitude to you, Karen Meisner, James Nicoll, Nisi Shawl, Tansy Rayner Roberts, and Lynne Thomas. Somewhere between being stunned and ecstatic, I am really, really happy.

Thanks.

4 Responses

  1. That is fantastic! Congratulations!

  2. Congratulations! It’s a great story that totally deserves to be on the list.

    I imagine being long-listed feels like a lovely birthday present, so happy birthday! 🙂

  3. Thanks y’all!

  4. I am so terribly proud and weepy all at the same time.

Leave a Reply

