That there is my book

Well, it’s not my book. My saying that is more an expression of astonishment, not sole ownership. This book is the work of Lynne, me, all the contributors, the publisher, the assistant editors —

But for purposes of pure astonishment, and telling my grandmother, this here is my book.

The box arrived, I opened it, and J and I both sniffed the books. Yep. New book smell, all right. I babbled at her for a few minutes, then set out on some errands. First to the library, when I got the contact information for how to get my local library system to stock Chicks Dig Comics. Then to my local independent bookstore, where the clerk pre-ordered copies. He placed the order, then looked up at me.

“You’re from the neighborhood, right?” he asked.

“Yes,” I said, “five blocks up.”

“Good,” he said. He hadn’t asked my name.

The whole exchange left me giggling, and thinking of Agnes Nutter, Witch, from the novel Good Omens. Particularly the part where her publishers can’t sell any copies of her book of prophecy, not even when they put out a nice placard reading “Local Authoress”. I walked away from the store muttering “Local Authoress” to myself.

Then I stopped by the post office, where I mailed one of my copies of Chicks Dig Comics to my grandmother.

My grandmother always said she hoped I would be a teacher or a writer. She was a teacher herself, for more decades than I know. She loved teaching, she loves learning, and she has always been proud of me. Editing a book isn’t the same as writing one, but it’s work that I’m proud of. I don’t know if my grandmother will read the book, or what she’ll make of it if she does. But that doesn’t matter. She can show it off to everyone in her facility and tell them what her grand-daughter has done.

As I type this, I am staring at a stack of fourteen copies of my book. It’s a real thing.

I like it that I make my grandmother proud.

.
.

2 Responses

  1. You and your grandmother are inspiring all the feelings in me. Yay you.

  2. I must admit, I have sympathetic sniffles of “How Awesome is the Sigrid!” right now.

Leave a Reply

