July 2 2012

1. A few weeks ago, one of my coworkers played a joke on another one. Coworker A crept into the far back seat of Coworker B’s extended-cab pickup truck, at night, wearing dark clothes and a hoodie. B got off of his shift, got into his truck, and started driving towards the gate. A sat up, thinking B would notice. B did not notice. A moved around, trying to get B’s attention. B did not notice. A finally said, “stop the damn truck!” B screamed the sort of scream reserved for horror films. B stopped the truck. Walked to the door. Let A out without a word. A got out, laughing hysterically. B got back into the truck and drove away.

A few points:

These are my coworkers.
Everyone agrees this was a great joke.
Everyone agrees that A is lucky B didn’t hit the gas in a panic and ram the fence, gate, or guard shack.
This is why I lock my car and leave the windows rolled up even in the security-patrolled parking lot.

2. My elbow tendonitis is … maybe improving? When the PT asked me if it’s getting better, I shrugged. Sure, it’s been hurting less the last few days, but that has happened before. I’ve had whole months free of pain. What I want is, I want the actual tendonitis to go away. I want six months of no pain or discomfort. A week? that’s nothing. That’s trivial.

To this end I am doing my exercises and stretching as directed every day.

3. I watched the 1980s dance-movie Girls Just Want to Have Fun yesterday, on the recommendation of my friend Caroline. (I love having friends who know my tastes so specifically!) I can’t say this is a great film. It is, however, a film that knows exactly what it is and what it means to do, and it sets out to accomplish those goals with a good will and a whole heart.

Points of interest to possibly no-one but me:

Helen Hunt plays the quirky best friend. I’m not sure what direction she was given, but the part comes across as a bit lesbian-esque in the subtext. While 1980s movies and tv definitely had a place for the quirky, alternative, punky, dare-devil, vaguely tomboyish best friend (or even lead!), Hunt keep giving Sarah Jessica Parker’s character these looks which are more Mary Stuart Masterson than anything else.

The dancers they got to do the dancing are quite good, and fun to watch. The cuts when the film moves from the double to the actor are very, very obvious. The spontaneous mass dance numbers are hilariously placed, but lots of fun.

The costuming. Oh dear sweet crickets, the costuming. I think I’ve seen most of these outfits in the pages of Marvel Comics from the 1980s. There is a hairband I swear Skids wears in X-Factor, um, #7 or #8? Whatever her second issue appearance is. And every one of Hunt’s outfits could have been worn by Boom-Boom. And there is a scene with “punks” crashing a party, and I think Storm fought those punks in an alley in San Francisco in Uncanny X-Men #206.

I love these outfits and costumes. Love them. Un-ironically. Without sarcasm. I just love them. But if you want to see what Marvel Comics superhero streetwear from the 1980s actually looked like on real human beings, go watch Girls Just Want to Have Fun. It’s on Netflix Watch Instantly, if that helps.

4. My daughter decided to paint a bookshelf in the basement, and blame it on her giant stuffed Pikachu. This is the sort of decision-making I would have engaged in as a child, teenager, and even young adult. Will painting the bookshelf negatively impact its utility? No. Am I allowed to use paints? Yes. Will this be fun? Yes. Can I clean up any mess? Yes. Okay, then, let’s paint!

As a kid I would not have taken into account the fact that the bookshelf was not mine, or that there may be other metrics of determining “damage” besides can I still put books on it. I would have assessed the situation using my very best judgment and proceeded.

Now, K has been told to not paint on anything besides paper without getting permission first, which makes her situation slightly different. But I did sympathize. (Her allowance is still being docked for the damages, of course. Sympathy with her position doesn’t excuse it.) And, more importantly, when asked about the situation she confessed all, explaining that she was merely pretending that Pikachu did it, she was not seriously attempting to lay blame for the incident on the stuffed animal. So that’s all good.

Still, I remember dismantling the garage door opener without asking anyone first. In my defense, it was already nonoperational when my brother and I took it apart. And we put it back together without anyone noticing. But I’m pretty sure it was merely in need of a battery when we started, and it was far more broken when we finished. But it never occurred to me as a child that there was any problem with my actions.

5. Work has been a sack of cats for the last couple of weeks. Since I suspect many of you spend some time as passengers on planes, I won’t go into details.

Sack. Of. Cats.

.
.

One Response

  1. I’m sure you’re shocked to know that I watched and enjoyed Girls Just Want to Have Fun back in the day.

    Total agreement about the Marvel costuming. 🙂

Leave a Reply

