July 13 2012

1. I did go see Amazing Spider-Man. I essentially liked it. I was, however, watching it in a very blinkered way, i.e., I was watching Emma Stone and Andrew Garfield be awesome in their parts, and I wasn’t really looking at the plot.

2. The two movies I saw in the last week both had trailers comprised exclusively of movies with themes of vigilantism.

The Watch
Dark Knight Rises
Total Recall
Bourne Legacy
Premium Rush
Lawless
Gangster Squad
End of Watch
Here Comes the Boom
Jack Reacher
Wreck-It Ralph
Django Unchained

3. I stated watching the Red Riding trilogy on Netflix. A few observations:

The sound quality of the streaming films is terrible.
I cannot understand a Yorkshire accent
Andrew Garfield is fantastic.
Garfield’s character has a sex scene with a character played by Michelle Dockery, which makes my head write Peter Parker / Lady Mary Crawley time-travel fic.

4. The first appearance of the new Captain Marvel was this Wednesday, in Avenging Spider-Man #9. This is the Carol-Danvers-is-Captain-Marvel Captain Marvel. The comic is a delight. I highly recommend it.

5. I have spent my days off Editing All The Things. I really like what the contributors to #nextanthology are doing with their pieces.

6. I don’t have to go back to physical therapy! The therapist and I agree that I have a plan, I know how to implement it, and I am motivated to do so. So now I spend a year working on said plan.

I’m thirty-nine years old. Nothing on my body is ever going to Just Get Better All On Its Own again.

7. I received more postcards from my kids!

\o/
\o/
\o/

.
.

4 Responses

  1. I watch most movies that way — not looking at plot and accidentally ending up with crack pairings based on actors 😉

  2. @Anika Which might just be where I picked it up from. 😛

  3. I’m thirty-nine years old. Nothing on my body is ever going to Just Get Better All On Its Own again.

    UGH, YES.

    Next week I start PT for the tendonitis in my shoulder, and hope that my sprained ankle gets better without needing medical attention. My aging meatbag is not happy with me.

  4. Whoa. That is a lot of vigilante movies. That and the number of Real Housewives incarnations make me very concerned about the world.

Leave a Reply

