August 7 2012

1. Curiosity landed on Mars. I am so sniffley-pleased about this. Go Team Human.

2. I am really liking The Lizzie Bennet Diaries. It’s a delightful modern rendition of Pride and Prejudice done in the form of video diaries on YouTube. It’s just my sort of thing. Moreover, the acting is notably good.

3. I have Worldcon weekend off of work! I will, in fact, be at Worldcon, aka Chicon 7, in, what, three weeks? Something like that. Eeep.

4. So, the Readercon thing. Readercon is a small SF/F con in New England. And an author was sexually harassed by a guy at the con this year. She reported it to the con, who had a policy of lifetime ban for sexual harassers.

The con board banned him for two years.

Which is significantly less than “lifetime,” unless they know something the rest of us don’t.

Many discussions ensued.

After MUCH debate, the Readercon board resigned and the concom issued this apology.

It’s a genuine, true, and comprehensive apology. Many good points to the Readercon concom for this. It’s heartening to see people come around to the right thing.

.
.

One Response

  1. I don’t think I’ve thanked you lately for linking me to so many good things. That’s one of the best apologies I’ve ever seen, for example. Also, I have fallen in like with the Captain Awkward blog. So thank you!

Leave a Reply

