On the noses of hounds

My eleven-year-old hound mutt, Jake, has been ill recently. The CT scan yesterday revealed a massive, “destructive,” soft tissue growth in his nose and skull. This is what we call a tumor.

I’ll be making an appointment with oncology for a few weeks out. They will have all the details on malignancy, growth, and prognosis.

In the meantime, Jake seems to be not in any pain. Well, I mean, his nose is tender right now from the biopsy. But he doesn’t seem to have any trouble from the tumor. He eats, drinks, walks, and snuffles along like the elderly gentlehound he is.

I spent some time last night just snuggling him in his woozy, post anesthesia state. What’s a little post-surgical bleeding between friends, right?

.
.

2 Responses

  1. I’m sorry to hear about Jake. You’re both in my thoughts.

  2. Oh, I am sorry to hear this.

Leave a Reply

