The adventure begins!

We drove down to Chicago yesterday. All was well!

1. All of us enjoyed the hitherto-unknown-to-us podcast, Caustic Soda. Though I did warn my mother that if the children start lecturing her on chlamydia, it’s because of the podcast, nothing more.

2. No matter how much extra time I allow for getting to my mother’s house from the 90-294 interchange, it always takes thirty minutes longer. No matter what I plan, it’s thirty minutes more.

3. I cleverly outwitted myself with hotel reservations! But in a pleasant way! So I will actually be at the Hyatt, not at the Sheraton.

4. What happens at Grandma’s stays at Grandma’s. I have briefed my children on their manners, and briefed my mother on the one disciplinary item I really want her to uphold, and the rest is out of my hands. Everyone is happy.

.
.

Leave a Reply

