Let the UFYH continue

While we were all sick, the house got into a state. The last couple of days J and I have tried to beat entropy back.

Installed spice racks
Cleaned the basement to make it passable
Caught up on dishes
Scrubbed counters
UFYH’d the drawer of plastic bags and foil and such
Tidied the dining room table
Cleaned out the toy corner of the living room

Also we’ve made the kids clean their room. And they’ve been cleaning the basement playroom a little bit each day for a week.

My house is never again going to be as clean as it was when we had adoption agents coming to interview us on our suitability as parents. THAT was a whole ‘nother thing, yes. But we try to keep it livable. We try to keep it clean enough that we’re not irritated by the mess. I think we’ll be back to that standard in another day or two.

.
.

National Coming Out Day

It’s National Coming Out Day here in the U.S. I’m trying to think if there’s anything about which I’m still closeted.

I don’t think so?

At any rate, for those of you new to the blog, or looking for clarity and definition:

I am queer. Mostly a lesbian.
I am polyamorous. I openly and with clear communication am romantically, sexually, and emotionally involved with more than one person at a time, as long as everyone is consenting. My partner J is as well, and her other partner, N, is. J, N, and I all live together, sharing a household.
I am a parent. J and I have two kids, both adopted. We homeschool the kids.
I am agnostic. As a family we go to Unity Unitarian church, but this does not mean I have faith in a deity. On the contrary, I am a stalwart secular humanist. I believe in science, I believe in history, I believe in the future, I believe in humanity’s ability to mend the world.
I am an air traffic controller.
I am a published editor and writer.
I am a worrier who channels anxiety into preparing for the zombie apocalypse.
I am a reformed slacker. I am a recovering knight. I believe people can and must learn and change and grow.
I believe in discretion and the idea of too much information, and hence there are other things in my life I will not mention here, on National Coming Out Day, because I have boundaries.

Hmm. I think that about covers it?

Happy National Coming Out Day, y’all!

.
.