Silmarillion Twilight

Yesterday I finally got around to watching Breaking Dawn, part 2, the fifth and final movie in the Twilight saga. I was at the part where Carlisle is gathering allies when it hit me — I don’t actually want to watch or read the Twilight books. I want to watch or read the Twilight equivalent of Tolkien’s Silmarillion.

For those of you who don’t know, The Silmarillion is a collection of history, creation myth, epic poetry, and lineage charts that J.R.R. Tolkien wrote for Middle-Earth. I loved that book. I read and re-read that book about fifteen times. I used to have portions of The Lay of Beren and Luthien memorized. Yet I only ever read The Hobbit once. And I would skip about half of The Lord of the Rings every time I read it. (I would read the Rohan parts, the Gondor parts, and all Merry-and-Pippin parts. The rest I skipped.)

I find it funny but true — my feelings about Stephanie Meyer and my feelings about J.R.R. Tolkien are about the same. Nice world-building, but your plots and characterization need a LOT of work.

I want to know more about the world of Twilight. I want to know the backstory, the creation myth and history and lineages of the vampires and werewolves. I want to know what other mythical creatures may or may not exist, where they live and what they do. I want to know how the super-powers work and when they first appeared. I want Twilight Silmarillion far more than I want the story of Bella, Edward, and Jacob.

Though I would absolutely read a book about anything at all that was told entirely from Alice Cullen’s point of view.

.
.

Leave a Reply

