Lost Girl S2

Woot!

J and I began our watching of Lost Girl season 2! I have been WAITING for this, but we wanted to finish Terriers first. (Terriers is fantastic, by the way. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes P.I. stories and stories about going on after you’ve screwed up absolutely everything.)

Lost Girl is one of the shows J and I have fidelity on. (This is the dirty secret of polyamory – scheduling dates isn’t that hard, scheduling important talks isn’t that hard. Scheduling when you are going to watch what tv shows, with whom, and where? THAT is hard.) So I had to wait. But ohh, I am happy now that we are watching it!

This show is ridiculous. Magical healing sex is CANON, just to give you a hint. But I love it anyway. It shows things that are real while distracting the audience with fiction.

I am reminded of the original Star Trek series. Which made a black woman an officer on a starship. They did it and they received flak for it but they DID it, and part of how they did it was because it was science fiction — they could half-pretend that a black woman officer was as impossible as a Vulcan.

But things like that matter. Uhuru matters, and Xena and Gabrielle matter, and Sisko matters, and part of why I have always loved genre fiction with all my heart is that it is here, in disregarded fantasy, that I can see myself. Because it doesn’t matter, because no-one takes it seriously, I could as a kid find people like me. It is still here, in genre fiction, that I find reflections of myself and my people. And so we have Lost Girl.

The lead of Lost Girl is Bo, a young bisexual woman with multiple partners who makes decisions about her sexual autonomy. She has male and female lovers. She has vitally important male and female friends, an aspect of bisexuality that is often completely ignored in fiction. In short, Bo reminds me of the incredible women I have dated – smart, sexy, willful, flirty, and a host of other fantastic things.

It’s nice to see Bo on the screen. I like her and her quirky group of friends. I root for them, here at the margins of entertainment. It’s at the edges of things that growth occurs.

.
.

One Response

  1. I’ve just recently gotten into Lost Girl. It hits all of my genre FEELS for shows like Forever Knight, Wolf Lake, Highlander, and so on: a somewhat cheesy but highly entertaining series where the supernatural cloaks itself from the real world. And completely agreed on the bisexuality and autonomy, especially

    part of why I have always loved genre fiction with all my heart is that it is here, in disregarded fantasy, that I can see myself. Because it doesn’t matter, because no-one takes it seriously, I could as a kid find people like me.

    In a funny case of timing, Change.org just sent out an online petition to ask Disney to feature a gay or lesbian character on one of its shows. Since my son insists on watching those shows, it would be wonderful to have something worthwhile in them. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

