April 11 2013

1. It’s snowed here. I am displeased.

2. The puppies are still adorable. I compared them, on Twitter, to being a bit like the radio earpiece from Harrison Bergeron. By which I meant that, while the puppies are awake, they need something about every forty-five seconds. Attention, outside, intervention to keep them from eating electrical cords, food. It’s … very hard to do anything else, while they are awake.

3. In the wake of watching the movie John Carter, I re-read some Edgar Rice Burroughs books. I think I read those books at exactly the right age to love them. They are highly problematic, by which I mean drenched in racism and misogyny. But they wormed into my head, and I still enjoy them, though I skip over the offensive parts now.

4. My current favorite dinner:

Take a large ceramic dish with a lid. Snap a bunch of asparagus into it. Add 4-8 plum tomatoes. Add 4-6 whole mushrooms. Drizzle with olive oil. Sprinkle with black pepper. Roast, covered, in the oven at 450 F for 35 minutes. Eat as soon as it’s cool enough to not burn you.

.
.

Leave a Reply

