Superman: Unbound

Superman: Unbound was a great movie. It’s the newest animated DC film, and my primary emotion while watching it was “why aren’t the comics like this! I would buy this comic!”

But that’s really not the point. As writer Glen Weldon said over at Robot 6, “The idea of Superman long ago transcended the various media that deliver him to us.” DC’s comics are not Superman. The movies are not Superman. Neither are the tv shows, in all their variety, Superman. As Weldon puts is, “Superman: 1. Puts the needs of others over those of himself, and 2. Never gives up.” That’s Superman. That’s the guy, right there.

So while I mourn the loss of the Superman I respect in the comics, I am glad to have that character available through other means. I own the various Justice League cartoons. I own New Frontier on dvd. I show these things to my kids, so that they will know and understand the iconography of their culture. And while the comics don’t make me happy at the moment, I definitely have the movies.

Superman: Unbound is a must-watch if you like Lois Lane, if you like Supergirl. It’s a must-watch if you miss John Nobles chewing the scenery on Fringe. It’s a solidly good story about family, with a strong message of feminism. It’s just good, on a number of levels.

Superman: Unbound. I highly recommend it.

.
.

3 Responses

  1. FWIW, I’m currently reading two titles with Superman (Justice League and Superman) and I see that Superman in them. If I didn’t, I don’t think I’d be reading them. Though I’d also argue that there’s slightly more to Superman than those two things. 😉

  2. @Sam Heh, yes. Say, have you read Weldon’s book yet? It is a very good thing.

  3. I’ll be sure to check it out!

Leave a Reply

