Fitness update

Last week I left my front door and went for a run. Just a run, in my neighborhood.

When I returned to my house, my FitBit says I ran 3.3 miles.

That’s … that’s a 5K.

I signed up to run the Twin Cities 5K this fall. I was not expecting the 3.3 miles to be so easy. I just … kept running.

Now, of course, the Twin Cities 5K has a route with more hills than what I ran last week. So I’ve been practicing shorter runs up and down the hills on the other side of my neighborhood. Yesterday morning I ran, well … according to FitBit, again, I ran 1.6 miles and climbed the equivalent of seventeen flights of stairs.

I remember moving into this neighborhood and finding walking the hills to be difficult. That’s … not the case, anymore.

I started running about two and a half years ago. My first run was … about 75 meters. Maybe. Then I walked. And when I caught my breath, I jogged another, oh, 50m. Maybe. Repeat this process for fifteen minutes. I think my total running-and-walking was less than a quarter-mile.

Two and a half years later, I can run three miles without much trouble. That’s progress. Real, solid, measurable, LASTING progress.

I am kinda amazed.

.
.

5 Responses

  1. You are a STAR.

  2. Yay! I am continually inspired by reading about your progress.

    A couple weeks ago I decided that my exercise routine needed an update. I added some new bodyweight moves for my upper body. In hunting around the internet I happened on Nerd Fitness. Their approach really appeals to my gamer side. I think the same ideas of community support and exercise challenges are found at a lot of places. This one looks like a good fit for me. I’ll see how I feel in a couple months. I hope to see progress like yours.

  3. Go you! The downtown Whole Foods is about 3 miles from my house, and I know I could not run that far.

  4. Whoo-hoo!

  5. Aw, thanks y’all!

Leave a Reply

