• Sigrid Ellis

  • Bio

    Sigrid Ellis is co-editor of the Hugo-nominated Queers Dig Time Lords and Chicks Dig Comics anthologies. She edits the best-selling Pretty Deadly from Image Comics. She is the flash-fiction editor of Queers Destroy Science Fiction, from Lightspeed Press. She edited the Hugo-nominated Apex Magazine for 2014. She lives with her partner, their two homeschooled children, her partner’s boyfriend, and a host of vertebrate and invertebrate pets in Saint Paul, MN.
  • Recent Posts

  • Meta

  • Calendar

    November 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930

Adventures in parenting

Most days, my daughter is not the speediest person in the house.

She’s bit of a procrastinator, a bit of a dawdler. She lingers. She redirects. She thinks of ninety-seven things that she meant to do, oh, just this one things really quick, before doing what she’s told. The problem is, she is also a very busy kid. She’s heavily into activities, and those activities require that she be certain places at specific times, ready for action.

It’s an ongoing concern.

Most days that I am home, I find myself nagging her. I want her to succeed, I truly do. I want her to finish schoolwork and chores in plenty of time to play for a bit before circus. I want her to have time to relax and snuggle me before I go to work. I want her to have accomplishments in good time. So I end up, in a move that is probably counter-productive, nagging her endlessly to just stop screwing around and do the next thing.

This makes no-one happy.

This morning, as she came out of the bath already running late, I said, “Today I will not nag you. You know what you need to do. You know when things need to be done. If you run late, you will get extra chores. If you are mean to me about it, you will be fined. But I am not going to nag you all day. I’m just not up for it. It will be a nagging-free day, so we don’t fight. Does that sound good?”

And she burst into tears.

Parenting, man. This stuff is not easy.

.
.

2 Responses

  1. Forcing your children to learn to grow up is never easy. For the children or the parents.

  2. How did it work out? For you and for her?

Leave a Reply

