2013 Moments in Fandom

When I was a young adult, I told people I was a feminist. Which I believed to be true. And then I strove to match what I thought a feminist would be according to other people. I looked around for some sort of community standard, and aimed for it. And when I failed I said “I’m a bad feminist” or “that wasn’t very feminist of me.”

These days, if I do it or say it or think it or feel it, it’s feminist, because I am one, and I am doing it.

This is how I feel about 2013 and fandom.

Your main fandom of the year?

I don’t think I had one. I re-read the Phryne Fisher series two more times. I watched Doctor Who, and Once Upon a Time, and other shows from last year. There are a lot of things I enjoyed this year, but none to the point of obsession.

Your favorite film you watched this year?

That’s probably Pacific Rim. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I loved the acting, the costumes and set decoration, the soundtrack, the visual effects. I yelped in glee during some of the fight scenes. I love the character interactions and dynamics. And I love the messages of the movie.

What I probably love the most about Pacific Rim, though, is the pure love my son has for it. He loves the kaiju. Loves them. When I see adorable fanart of baby kaiju on Tumblr, I save the posts to show him. I am planning on taking both the kids to see Godzilla because “Godzilla was the first kaiju.”

Your favorite book read this year?

Parasite, by Mira Grant.

I don’t know how to talk about what makes this book so good without giving away the cliffhanger punchline of an ending. (And this is the first book in a series, so the ending is more of a pause in events.) But I love the narrative voice. I love the premise of the world. I love the way Mira weaves queers and people of color and people of different ages and abilities into her books. The building of fictional worlds the resemble our own reality should not be so noteworthy, but it still is, and Mira does a fantastic job.

The story rockets along, and I deeply want to know what happens next.

Your favorite tv show of the year?

Oh, easy.

Sleepy Hollow.

This show is RIDIC. It is … it is crazypants whackadoo ambitiously off the rails. And it knows this and it owns it and it is keeping faith with the viewer. This is a show in which a time-travelling Ichabod Crane is just a blip in the premise that revolves around the Book of Revelations and the End of Days.

Oh, and Hessians. Can’t forget the Hessians. (Stuff You Missed in History did a special podcast on the Hessians just because so many people were emailing in to ask about them, as a direct result of this show.)

Here’s the thing. The opening credits cast has four names in it. Two are women. Two are people of color. The show runners and writers have specifically and publicly committed to casting diversity, to casting for women and people of color. And they are doing a damn fine job. If Sleepy Hollow, a show set in New England and also set in the 1770s early America, can easily feature women and people of color as their main characters, then all the rest of you tv shows don’t have any sort of bullshit excuse. No more of this “well, it’s not historically accurate,” or, “that doesn’t make sense for where the story takes place.”

Nope. Nuh-uh. Suck it up, writers. Your excuses are invalid.

Your best new fandom discovery of the year?

Sleepy Hollow, as I mention above.

The television reviews of Genevieve Valentine, particularly her reviews of Reign.

The truly wonderful Geek Girl Con, which I hope to get back to in a year or two.

Your biggest fandom disappointment of the year?

Scandal. This show was my HUGE favorite last year, and this year’s season just … I don’t even know. So many things are not right about it, I have stopped watching.

Second runner-up? Agents of SHIELD. This Marvel cinematic universe tie-in had absolutely every advantage, and it’s just not very good. I am watching it with my son, and I will keep watching it. But I really hope it finds some sort of footing after the mid-season break. I tend to do a lot of texting while we watch it together.

Your fiction boyfriend of the year?

Movie-verse Thor.
Movie-verse Captain America.
Stacker Pentacost

Your fiction girlfriend of the year?

It’s still Regina Mills from Once Upon a Time. I mean the show is really not very good, and the parts I care about are only 20% of what happens on the screen. But I still care what happens to her.

Your biggest squee moment of the year?

I quite liked The Day of the Doctor, the big Doctor Who episode for the 50th anniversary.

I squealed out loud in the movie theater during Pacific Rim when Gypsy Danger picked up a ship like a baseball bat.

The most missed of your old fandoms?

Comics. For various reasons, I haven’t kept up with reading comics this year, and I miss them. I hope to get back into the habit in 2014.

Your biggest fan anticipations for the coming year?

New Sherlock season!
The continuation of the Marvel cinematic universe!
New Phryne Fisher novel!

I am certain there is more. There’s ALWAYS more amazing, unexpected, fantastic stuff coming. Because the world is full of talented and ambitious people driven to produce story.

My thanks to them all.

.
.

Leave a Reply

