Squamous cell carcinoma

1. None of this is certain until the Mayo Clinic sends their biopsy confirmation to my doctor.

2. It looks like cancer. Specifically, it looks like squamous cell carcinoma of the mucous lining of my throat.

DO NOT google squamous cell carcinoma unless you are strong of stomach. DO NOT even click on that link. There are pictures.

3. J and I are planning as if I have cancer. If the Mayo results come in next week with some sort of glorious reprieve, we will throw a small party and celebrate. But that’s not our plan.

4. What I have (probably have; talking about this in the hypothetical is weird) is too advanced for surgical remediation. I will go forward with radiation treatment, supplemented by chemo. It will be six weeks of daily outpatient radiation. It was describe by my doctor as unbelievably painful.

I plan on ALL the drugs.

5. This sort of cancer is 90% responsive to radiation. The prognosis is good. This is a survivable thing.

6. Next week, we hear from the Mayo. Then we move on into the action plan. Unless a freaking miracle has occurred, and the horse is actually some easily treatable zebra.

.
.

11 Responses

  1. Oh damn, Sigrid.

  2. Caroline and I send all our love.

  3. Bloody hell, you’re the second person I know to get this within a few months.

    All my best wishes for a relatively low-pain and successful treatment.

  4. Here’s hoping the Mayo delivers another miracle. All my love.

  5. So sorry to hear this. Let me know if there’s anything else I can do podcast-wise. Happy to be more of a proactive point-person for a while if that would help!

  6. You and your family are in my thoughts. If there is anything I can do, please let me know.

  7. Oh, hell.

    People beat this shit all the time, and I am totally sure you’ll be one of them. But that you have to probably go through treatment sucks super hard.

    If you think of anything the internet can do for you, please let us know.

  8. I only just learned about this.

    I adore you and this is horrible and if cancer had a face I would punch it. I would punch cancer in the face with brass fucking knuckles.

    I’m just rooting for you so hard, and hoping for the best of all possible things.

  9. Oh [all of the curse words] no.

    Here’s to being the 90% and all the drugs. ALL the druggs.

  10. I’m with Mary: profanity and the 90%. Please keep people posted on how we can help. Being sick of any kind for a long while is draining to the soul and the pocketbook.

  11. Oh, that sucks. I’m glad that it is something that is well understood and treatable. I am very sorry that you have to go through a miserable treatment. Hugs and support for you.

Leave a Reply

