What are you reading and watching?

Wiscon is a convention that is all about the conversations. Conversations in panels, in hallways, at meals, in parties. It’s a convention made of conversations.

Each year before Wiscon I try to suss out what people are going to be talking about. Which books, movies, or television series are catching the imagination and moment. And, time permitting, I try to read or watch at least a few of those things.

This year I am hoping that folks will have read The Golem and the Jinni, by Helene Wecker. It’s a look at the immigrant experience in New York City around the turn of the twentieth century through a carefully thought-out and imaginative lens. One of the narrators is a golem. Another is a jinni. I am finding the book to be an engaging read.

I am also hoping that others will have read Elizabeth Bear’s Steles of the Sky, which I deeply loved for a host of reasons.

I am also catching up on some television. I’ve finished House of Cards season two. I intend to finish American Horror Story: Coven in the next few weeks. Right now I am beginning Elementary season two.

So!

:chinhands:

What are you watching? What are you reading? Whether or not you are going to Wiscon this year, what works of fiction or non-fiction are you and your friends talking about? Comics? Podcasts? Blogs? What has engaged your attention?

Do, please, tell me in the comments. NOT links, PLEASE, as link-heavy comments get marked as spam. But do tell me what you like about the thing in question, if you have time —

.
.

5 Responses

  1. Louise Erdrich’s “The Round House”, Helen Oyeyemi’s “Boy, Snow, Bird”, Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., Pretty Deadly, Jo Walton’s “What Makes This Book So Great”….

    Oh, what about them?

    “The Round House” is a gorgeously written story, beautifully built. Erdrich is brilliant.

    “Boy, Snow, Bird” is a book that almost all the way through I thought would definitely be on my best of 2014 list, and then the very last couple of chapters made me want to throw up. Great prose. Fascinating characters and story. The last part of the book is seriously problematic.

    Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. is better known at our house as “The Adventures of Agent May” because Ming-Na Wen.

    Pretty Deadly has my interest.

    “What Makes This Book So Great” makes me think, and is like a great talk with a friend who tells you what she’s been reading and why it does what it does. Plus everything in it is the perfect size to read in a couple of minutes between doing other things.

    Likely to start catching up on The Americans, which a friend introduced me to recently. Am watching Justified, which for its Shakespearean dialog and violence rivals Deadwood. Also it reminds me and Juan of some people.

    Am like you hoping for many answers here, which I can raid for reading suggestions.

  2. I would hope that everyone reads On a Red Station Drifting, and Three Parts Dead, and Ancillary Justice. Because I want someone to talk to about them!

  3. I’m watching The Blacklist, Agents of SHIELD, & sometimes Justified.

    I have not been reading much lately which I regret. I’m about half way through Maker Space which is the 2nd novel in a series based in the universe of the webcomic A Girl and Her Fed. I love the main character Rachel Peng, an ex-military Chinese American lesbian. (it is useful but not necessary to be familiar with the comic.

  4. Watching: Warehouse 13, Mad Men Season 6, Re-watching BSG. Reading The Golem and the Jinni, The Book Thief, just finished the Night Circus. Watched AHS Season 2, want to watch Coven as soon as it hits someplace I don’t have to pay for it.

  5. I have discovered romances this year. I’m very behind on things, coming fresh to the genre will do that, but I’m very much enjoying it. I haven’t been doing a lot of SF/F reading lately, focusing on ongoing series mostly, but there has been some. J.A Pitts turned in a good one (the title escapes me) as an urban fantasy, only the heroine much prefers a HAMMER instead of a sword which is a twist I can get behind.

Leave a Reply

