Dawn of the Planet of the Apes

I have two essential reactions to Dawn of the Planet of the Apes.

First is that I have lost the ability to not-see issues of representation in my fiction. I spent a great deal of time wondering why on Earth the human lead, Malcom, could not have been a woman of color. I couldn’t think of a single story-related reason for it.

I also noted, with tired resignation, that for a story set in California, the background characters were AWFULLY white.

But my second opinion is that, yes, it’s probably true that a chimpanzee does not suffer the recoil penalty when dual-wielding assault rifles.

Once a gamer, always a gamer.

.
.

One Response

  1. I’m rewatching BSG and in the ep I wastched yesterday I noted that in this one scene of Baltar wandering thru the crowded hallway talking to “himself” literally everyone in the background was not white. And I noted random woc working the bridge in Voyager in my recap the other day. These series I love from 10-20 years ago seem to be doing better than now, it’s disturbing.

Leave a Reply

