I’ve been retweeting and reblogging things about the murder of Mike Brown in Ferguson, MO, since it happened a couple weeks ago.

I reblog and retweet posts by others about social justice issues, against misogyny, racism, homophobia, and other issues.

I was rewatching the HBO series Band of Brothers this last week.

When I hit the ninth episode, “Why We Fight,” I nodded.

In that episode, Easy Company finds and liberates a work camp. The nearby town of German citizens swear that they had no idea what was going on there.

Maybe they didn’t. I expect that vast numbers of Germans did not know the atrocities perpetuated by their government. But I also expect that they didn’t want to know.

I do not want to know about the injustices perpetuated by my government, by my culture, by people just like me. But more than that, far, far more than that, I don’t want to be the German townsperson suddenly confronted with the evil they allowed to occur.

The daily fight is not one of good versus evil; it’s good versus apathy. It’s good versus status quo, versus standing by doing one’s own thing and not looking up.

I would rather look up.

I would rather see the world in all it’s imperfections, and strive to correct those imperfections, than later discover the depths of evil I ignorantly permitted to occur in my name.

I know it’s trite to compare things to Nazis. Godwin’s Law, and all that. And I am not saying that the U.S. government is full of nazis. I am saying that I no longer find ignorance to be more comfortable than knowledge.

The world improves because we force it to do so. Good and justice prevail when ordinary people demand it.

.
.

Leave a Reply

