January 13 2015

Things, in a list.

1. My next throat biopsy is on the 21st. This means I’m off the steroids that let me talk, sleep, and eat solid food. The closer we get to the 21st, the longer I’m off the steroids, and the crappier I feel. Oddly enough, the persistent (yet false) feeling that I am constantly choking produces low-level-and-constant stress and anxiety.

This is, as you may imagine, tedious.

2. Our oldest dog, Connor, has been on a downward slide for some time. This week is a more acute instance. He didn’t eat for two days, and his back legs are unreliable. But then yesterday J fed him whipped cream and cupcakes and he ate that. (No, of course whipped cream and cupcakes are not a balanced diet for a dog. But we are in end-of-life, palliative care mode, and the dog gets to eat whatever damn thing he will eat.) Connor has a vet appointment later this week to see if this is the organ failure we are expecting, or if that’s not settled in yet.

3. I can be avoidant of something that is bothering me, KNOW I am being avoidant, KNOW that if I do the thing I will feel better, and still continue avoiding it. Brains are stupid sometimes, is what I’m saying.

4. I’m having a hell of a time getting my head into any fiction at the moment, so my next non-fiction reads are Knitting America, which is another history of knitting, The Warmth of Other Suns, the story of the black diaspora after the Civil War, and Tinseltown, an expose-tell-all about the seedy side of early Hollywood.

5. I made candied ginger yesterday, my fourth batch, and i think I have gotten this down. Excellent. It feels good to acquire a new skill.

6. I have today off of work because I can’t talk well enough to do my job. This is frustrating. On the other hand, I can catch up on some of the things I am avoiding! … Yay?

And I can get some knitting in!

7. My next/current knitting project: Dog sweater. This will expose me to new techniques and skills I haven’t worked with yet — some forms of increases and decreases, making armholes, switching from knitting in the round to knitting flat, a few other things. While I’m at it, I’m going to practice purling with something I saw online — Norwegian Purl. It seems like it might make purling work better for me.

.
.

2 Responses

  1. My entire life is #3 right now. Ugh.

  2. The Norwegian Purl is well worth learning! I’m a thrower, not a picker, but when knitting with both hands to do fair isle, the Norwegians come to the rescue.

Leave a Reply

