Terry Pratchett’s Night Watch

I just finished Night Watch, by Terry Pratchett.

I am not a huge Pratchett fan. But on his death, I thought it might be good to familiarize myself with at least some of his work. His highly, highly influential work. So I read Wyrd Sisters, and it was … oh, it was fine, I suppose. And I read The Colour of Magic and didn’t even get halfway through before giving up. Not my thing at ALL.

But I picked up Night Watch, and in Sam Vimes I found a character I could relate to.

The book won me over on page 236, in which Sam is contemplating the infrastructural logistics of a revolution. Think of the eggs, man. Think of the flour!

Sam is older. These days a book has to be damn exceptional for me to read about some young adult finding their way in the world for the first time. I have loved those books in the past, I have needed those books in the past. Those books are not for me anymore, and I treasure the books that have tired, cranky, flatly practical people trying to fumble along the decent path. Sam is one of those people.

The battle is not between doing good and doing evil. It’s between doing good and doing nothing.

You do the job that’s in front of you.

We try to be the people we see mirrored in the eyes of those who respect and care for us.

Yeah. Those things.

***

I could do without so many jokes, in the book. I am just … I am just not a comedy sort of reader. Ugh.

:heavy dog sigh:

But I really, really liked Sam Vimes.

.

.

5 Responses

  1. I’ve got all of the Vimes books upstairs. Just saying. 🙂

  2. His early stuff isn’t why he’s so beloved. It’s good, if you like that kind of thing, but it doesn’t sing with the social change rage and keenly observed life stuff that his later books can aspire to. Try Unseen Academicals, try Tiffany Aching, try Nation. Recommending Pratchett, I would never hand you the early stuff.

  3. Sam Vines, Tiffany Aching, Granny Weatherwax – all of them are doing what no one wants to do but what *must* be done. I need the funny in those stories because they would otherwise be pretty damn dark.

  4. As other people have said, I seriously recommend the Tiffany Aching books to you, even though they are about a young girl learning who she is and so forth. I’ve recommended them to people in the past as “Buffy, but if the writer had genuinely cared about the hero being responsible to a community and not just caring about her circle of friends”.

  5. THUD is almost all about Sam….

Leave a Reply

