NetFlix’s Daredevil

The first episode left me completely uninterested. Did Not Enjoy. But, the advantage of spoilers is, I’d already heard some things about episodes 2 and 3 that led me to continue. I’m glad I did.

See, the things I ended up liking are mostly things that now are canon in the MCU. Characters that exist now, gloriously, in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. No take-backs. These characters are set in ways that I really enjoy. (Mostly. Some [spoiler spoiler spoiler spoiler], but we’ll see what happens with the other tv series, I suppose.)

The other thing I liked is how brutal the show was. Not GrimDark, not the parts about kidnapped women and children and abused people and violence to the helpless. In fact, those are the reasons I almost stopped after episode 1. But I appreciated the fact that Matt Murdock always, in every fight scene, looks like this is punishingly hard for him. He sweats, shakes, and pants. His chest heaves with exertion and adrenalin. He staggers, falling sideways into things. He struggles to rise and continue. I enjoy watching MMA fighting from time to time, and one of the things that becomes very quickly clear is that fighting is exhausting. Just, hideously difficult to do for more than a minute. I appreciate that Daredevil keeps this in mind.

There is some fridging. Some things that come from the canon that the makers of the show elected to keep in. There are also some ridiculous things from the canon that I have always rolled my eyes at, that I expect huge Daredevil fans will love.

I really liked this [SPOILERY] essay, Daredevil and the Real City in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. The essay is critical, more critical than I ended up feeling about the show. But it raises some interesting questions about the setting of Daredevil and where and how it relates to the MCU.

.

.

Leave a Reply

