2015 Tiptree Winners, Honors, Long List!

2015 Winners, Honor List, and Long List Announced!

Y’all, I am SO VERY PLEASED by this list. Are there things missing that I would have liked to see honored? Sure, of course. But this is GREAT. This is FANTASTIC.

This, this is the future of SF/F. If you want to know what the future looks like, it’s these people, these works. This is where we are going.

There are too many great, incredible works on this list for me to mention them all. But I’m going to mention a few I am particularly happy about.

Milkfed Criminal Masterminds is well-represented, with Matt Fraction and Christian Ward’s ODY-C on the Honors list and Bitch Planet by Kelly Sue DeConnick and Valentine De Landro on the Long List. [Full disclosure, I work with Kelly Sue on Pretty Deadly.] “Each to Each,” by Seanan McGuire made the Honors list as well. [I’ve also worked with Seanan.] And I was very happy to see stories from Susan Jane Bigelow and Bonnie Jo Stufflebeam on the lists, as I was privileged to buy other works of theirs in the past. It is *so nice* to see people go on to receive the accolades I always knew they deserved!

In the realms of people I have not worked with, I am VERY happy to see Carola Dibbell’s novel, The Only Ones, on the Honors List. This is the book I am rooting for in the awards season this year. I hope it makes the Nebula and Hugo ballots. I hope it wins.

There are a host of other great things on these lists. I highly recommend all of them, honestly. The Tiptree is a juried award, and the folks have spent a lot of time and energy reading everything and making complicated decisions about the merit of the works. Go ye forth and read!

And enjoy the future.

*

*

Leave a Reply

