Hello, everyone I am about to see at Wiscon!

Hello, all you fine folks I am about to see at Wiscon!

This is a quick-reference sheet for folks who like to plan their social encounters ahead of time. The rest of y’all — :waves: — see you at con!

My name is Sigrid Ellis. That’s also my handle on Twitter, Tumblr, Snapchat — basically everywhere. Two short-i sounds. Sih-grid. But I respond positively to any reasonably well-intentioned effort.

I use she/her pronouns.

I mostly eat vegetarian/pescetarian, but will eat animals from ethically-sourced cruelty-free places. So, there’s a high chance I’ll do so in Madison, because, *Madison*.

Not really a hugger, so please ask first.

I have a *freaking terrible* lack of ability to remember names and faces both, though I am working on it! PLEASE FEEL FREE TO INTRODUCE YOURSELF AGAIN, especially if you have a different haircut, or we know each other from more than one convention. If I *just* saw you at Minicon, I may be entirely confused talking to you at Wiscon. Seriously, I just called two of my coworkers Thing 1 and Thing 2. Watch my eyes. I will smile at you and say a cheery hello because I recognize you from … something … and start frantically looking for your badge.

Yes, my throat is still mystery-screwed-up in some way, no, I don’t really have answers or explanations, yeah, there’s not much to talk about there.

I am on panels!

Fri, 4:00–5:15 pm Join the Mod Squad: Enhance Your Moderation Skills

Ever go to a panel and spend your time thinking, “With a good moderator, this would be a much better panel?” We will review several ways to be that good moderator, offer tips and tricks, and generally work on improving WisCon’s already high standards for panel moderation. We strongly encourage you to attend this panel if you are moderating at WisCon, especially if it’s your first time. It’s also a great experience if you ever have been, or think you ever will be, a panel moderator anywhere.

Sun, 1:00–2:15 pm There Is No Aging Out Of Fandom

Too often we’ll encounter the phrase you’re so old! Or You’re too old to be a fangirl. Fuck that noise, we’re not going anywhere because we’re not wee kids just dipping our toes into our chosen fandoms. Let’s discuss this ridiculous idea like the mature adults we are, along with other aspects of our experience as aging SF writers and fans, and/or such topics as how SF/F has handled aging.

Sun, 2:30–3:45 pm It Came From the Slush Pile

Editors of short fiction share their slush pile horror stories. What are the turns of phrase that have made you spit coffee over your keyboard? What are the cover letter faux pas writers keep committing? What are the stories that have made you edit your guidelines to avoid seeing their like ever again? Part advice for new submitters, part venting for slush pile veterans, this panel should warn both groups just what they’re up against–or competing against.

I mostly attend panels, so you stand a good chance of finding me in the hallways in between. Most of my meals are scheduled up, but I expect I’ll be around at some of the evening parties.

I look forward to seeing y’all again!

*

*

2 Responses

  1. Hello! I’m looking forward to meeting you at Wiscon! I’m going to be on my first-ever panels this year: The Secret History of Wonder Woman on Saturday afternoon and Solarpunk on Sunday morning.

  2. :Waves: Hi! See you soon!

Leave a Reply

