Upcoming CONvergence things to note

My hometown con, CONvergence, is in a week and half. I hope to see many of you there!

As some of you might know, I am working as part of the Invited Participants department this year. I am invested in CVG being a good convention for everyone. I want us to treat you well.

I will say this upfront and openly: CONvergence is an imperfect convention. It is run by people. We all have our own opinions and perceptions, we all have our prejudices and our privilege. We will fuck up.

What keeps me working with-and-for CONvergence all these years is a willingness to acknowledge screw-ups, listen, learn, and make an attempt to do better. I cannot assure you we won’t do something incredibly stupid and racist, misogynist, homophobic, ableist or otherwise asinine. What we will try very hard to do is make it right.

My Twitter is public, @sigridellis. Contact me there if you have an issue and I’ll see how I can help.

***

In addition, I’m on some programming this year. You can find me at:

Gone Off the Rails: How to Moderate
Thursday June 30, 2016 2:00pm – 3:00pm
Crowne Plaza U

Sometimes, you’re on a panel that starts to go wrong: some guy starts talking over all the women in the room or the person who volunteered to moderate the panel turns out to be a blowhard. How do you fix this on the fly? And not be That Guy?
Panelists: John Seavey, Sigrid Ellis (mod), Mark Oshiro, Michael Carus, Stephanie Zvan

Trade Routes
Saturday July 2, 2016 12:30pm – 1:30pm
DoubleTree Atrium 2

Most people think of trade routes as means to exchange goods and money. They are also the roads of culture and influence. Let’s talk about the power trade routes have exerted on history and in genre.
Panelists: Bradford Walker, Katie Dahl, Sigrid Ellis (mod), Emma Bull, Michael Carus

***

A few other notes:

The Twitter accounts for CVG are @CONvergenceCon for the main con, @CONvergenceLive for live-tweets of panels, photos of the convention, and current immediate events, and @CVG_Reminders for tips about enjoying the convention and remembering to eat meals.

The hashtag for CVG this year is #CVG2016.

See you all June 30th!

*

*

Leave a Reply

