I’d never ridden in an ambulance before

My spouse, J, is in the hospital. She has a kidney stone which got weirdly blocked, and now has a kidney infection as a result. The hospital is holding her another night, because they want a fever-free twenty-four hours at some point.

On Monday afternoon I took her to Urgent Care, and Urgent Care bounced her to the E.R. in ten minutes. The weather was terrible, it was rush hour, and I opted for the offer of an ambulance. I rode in the back with her, and kept thinking, “so this is what my brother’s office looks like!” (My brother is a firefighter in the Chicago metro.)

Emergency rooms are full of incredibly calm people whose metrics about what is an *emergency* are way off from the rest of us. I tend to like them, on the whole. Even when I am wishing that they would get to us just a little bit quicker.

By 9:30 Monday night they determined that J needed a stent. N came to the hospital for that part while I went home and slept and briefed the kids. The procedure was done by 1:00 a.m. and went well.

Yesterday morning J’s fever was problematically back. The kids and I went and visited in the morning, then I sent the kids home for their evening activities. (I am so, so grateful, by the way, to the community of people who are offering and providing driving assistance. So grateful.) I spent the rest of the day at the hospital while nothing much happened, then came home.

I spoke to J this morning. Her fever came back overnight, so they are keeping her again tonight.

I am so grateful for modern medicine. The part of me that understands historical medical practice keeps track of the number of times she would have already been dead at this point, and I am so grateful to live now and here. We have health insurance. We live in a community with many hospitals. I am so grateful.

At this point I am looking at the days ahead and working out the logistics of covering all the work J does around the house, with the kids, with the pets. The kids are being absolute troupers, and are pitching in. N is invaluable. I expect, locals, that I may well be taking some of y’all up on those offers of help, though, as the need to drive kids places continues.

Thank you, very much, for all your support and kind thoughts. I truly appreciate it.

*

*

2 Responses

  1. Thinking of you and yours, glad you are being taken care of.

  2. May she come home soon and heal well.

    (Also, while the doctor getting to you is good, the intake people bumping you to the front of the line ahead of people who’ve been waiting is generally bad. I don’t recommend it.)

Leave a Reply

