What have I done to resist: 100 days

The chaos does not stop coming. It is very, very hard to stay engaged and caring.

However.

When this is all over, I want to be able to meet people’s eyes without shame. I want to be able to say I did not go quietly.

So here’s what I’ve done so far.

– still giving money. This is the big one for me. I support national and local nonprofits, resistance, support, the arts, all sorts of things. I give to a number of Patreons, helping artists and creators. I give to GoFundMes and Kickstarters. I pay for things where and when I can.
– calling my MoCs. Now, since mine are pretty liberal, mostly I’m just calling to say thank you. Sometimes I castigate Klobuchar, but not even that much there.
– calling and writing local government. I am learning a lot more about local issues – state, city, and neighborhood – and I am contacting those people more.
– donating material goods. We found out this last month that our neighborhood has a wet-house, a place where chronic and untreatable alcoholics can live with dignity. We donated a bunch to them, and well as to Goodwill.
– in the last month, I haven’t marched or gone to any meetings. But there’s always more coming up.
– I am speaking out against abuse, harassment, and poor behavior in my communities of interest. Fandom, SF/F, comics, etc. I am … I am done, entirely, with cultures of silence and indirect management.

What has happened in government in the last few weeks? It’s almost impossible to keep up. The EPA has removed the webpage on climate change. Sean Spicer spoke approvingly of Hitler. North Korea is relentlessly testing missiles, and 45 may or may not be sending naval groups to engage. 45 bombed the shit out of a location in Syria. The White House is promoting 45’s businesses. The Kids are now illegal ambassadors for the U.S. The AHCA is being voted on again.

This is a long, long haul. I’m here. So are you. We’ll get through this together.

*

*

Leave a Reply

