I have genuinely lost track

I have genuinely lost track of how many groups of human beings the Trump government has declared to be not human enough for them.

Immigrants
Muslims
Mexicans
Black Americans
Women
Pregnant women
Women who have sex
Unmarried women
Trans people
Gays
Lesbians
Bisexuals
Sikhs (because they might be Muslims?)
Disabled people
Old people
Infants
Children
Sick people
Veterans

… I’ve probably missed a few groups.

It’s a rough, rough week. I find it very hard to remain optimistic. But I’m finding it easy this week to remain angry, and anger is fairly motivating for me.

So I’m going to keep calling and writing and donating money. I’ll show up for events where and when I can.

I won’t tell you, “don’t despair.” These are fairly despairing times, honestly. But I would ask you, after you are done despairing for an hour, a day, a week, six months, after you are done despairing, I would ask you to please go out and do something to help someone.

Contribute to a GoFundMe. Call your members of congress. Give a bag of clothes to a local charity. Teach someone a skill you know. Make a nice dinner for your family or friends. Give a positive review on iTunes. Send a thank you email to a podcaster. Contribute to a local political campaign. Volunteer for a neighborhood clean-up. Dog-sit for a friend. Pay for the person in line behind you at the drive-through. Make a YouTube video.

You are in this world. I see you, out there. We are all in this world. And the world is what we make it. “Look for the helpers,” that Fred Rogers quotation tells us. But that’s *us*. He was talking about *us*. We are the helpers. We make the world.

This is a pretty terrible week in national politics, and it’s only Wednesday. But I’m still here. And so are you. And after I write this blog post and cry a bit in sheer massive frustration, I’m going to get up and do the dishes. Then I’m going to mail this package of knitting research to Exeter, England, to help contribute to an academic study on Medieval knitwear. And then I’m going to call my MoCs, again.

I’ll see you around, right?

:fistbump:

*

*

Leave a Reply

